Skip to main content

Blakemore Trio

Blakemore Trio

Blakemore Trio members (from left): Amy Dorfman, Felix Wang and Carolyn Huebl

Carolyn Huebl, violin; Felix Wang, cello; Amy Dorfman, piano

Violinist Carolyn Huebl, cellist Felix Wang and pianist Amy Dorfman established the Blakemore Trio in 2002. Critically acclaimed for their performances as individuals, they have established a captivating and brilliant ensemble performing the great master works of the past and exciting works of today.

Their special affinity for contemporary music has inspired them to include the commission and performance of new works as part of their mission. The 2005-06 season included performances of Sound and Fury, written for the Blakemore Trio by Tennessee composer Paul Osterfield while a fellow at the Macdowell Colony in 2004. In April 2007, the trio premiered a work for piano trio and dance, commissioned in collaboration with the Chinese Arts Alliance of Nashville. This exciting work by Taiwanese composer Sheuh-Shuan Liu combines present and past elements of Chinese art and culture.

The Blakemore Trio was one of three Blair ensembles selected for participation in "The Blair Commissions: Music for the 21st Century," funded by a grant from the James Stephen Turner Family Charitable Foundation. This grant allowed the trio to commission composer Susan Botti for a set of three compositions: for violin and piano, piano trio, and piano trio with voice, which premiered in New York in 2009.

In Spring 2007, the trio received an award grant from the American Composers Forum Encore Program that subsidized performances of a trio by Chilean pianist/composer Alfonso Montecino.

The Blakemore Trio is Carolyn Huebl, violin; Felix Wang, cello; and Amy Dorfman, piano.

Official Blakemore Trio website.