Skip to main content


Carol Nies named Arts Advocate of the Year by Nashville Singers

Nov. 9, 2015—Congratulations to Carol Nies, the 2015 winner of the Carol Crittenden Arts Advocate of the Year, awarded by Nashville Singers. Below is the announcement from the Nashville Singers News. Congratulations, Carol! Dr. Carol Nies Selected to Receive the 2015 Carol Crittenden Arts Advocate of the Year Award Funding for and focus on the performing arts...

Read more

Olivia Palazzolo wins Tone Award at Primrose International Viola Competition

Jul. 31, 2014—American Viola Society president Nokuthula Ngwenyama presents Blair student Olivia Palazzolo with the Tone Award at the Primrose International Viola Competition.   Blair School precollege student Olivia Palazzolo won the Tone Award at the Primrose International Viola Comptition, held in June at the Colburn School in Los Angeles. Palazzolo, age 17, is a student of...

Read more

Graduating senior Delesslin “Roo” George-Warren awarded 2014 Humanity in Action Fellowship

May. 7, 2014—The Office of Honor Scholarships is pleased to announce that DeLesslin “Roo” George-Warren, a Class of 2014 voice and music composition major at Blair School of Music, is one of 40 students in the nation to be selected for the 2014 Humanity in Action Fellowship. As a student at Vanderbilt, George-Warren studied abroad in Berlin,...

Read more

Blair students take top honors at NSO Curb Concerto finals

Mar. 3, 2014—The finals of the Nashville Symphony’s annual Curb Concerto Competition were held Sunday, March 2, at Schermerhorn Symphony Center, and all three top finalists are Myra Jackson Blair Scholars in the Blair School’s precollege program. Violist Olivia Palazzolo won the grand prize, and will perform as featured soloist with the Nashville Symphony and Curb Youth...

Read more

Blair graduate Evan Mack receives new Vanderbilt alumni award

Dec. 17, 2013—Evan Mack, B.Mus. ’03, is the recipient of one of the newest awards presented by the Vanderbilt Alumni Association Board of Directors — the Young Alumni Professional Achievement Award. The Young Alumni Professional Achievement Award honors an alumnus/a age 40 or younger, with a significant record of career achievement and a promise for future professional...

Read more

Blair School artists take home nine Nashville Scene Best of Nashville awards

Oct. 10, 2013—On Wednesday, October 9, the Nashville Scene released the winners of its 2013 Best of Nashville awards, and Blair School-affiliated artists took home a record-setting nine awards: eight Writers Choice awards, plus a Readers Choice award. Senior Lecturer Peter Cooper won the Readers Choice award, voted Best Music Writer by the Scene‘s readers. Signature faculty...

Read more

Blair School of Music 2013 awards and honors announced

Apr. 19, 2013—In a ceremony on April 18, the Blair School’s annual awards and honors were announced. Shelby Flowers, a Musical Arts/Piano major from Highlands Ranch, Colo., took top honors for the 2013 graduating class, winning the 2013 Founder’s Medal. She will be recognized at Commencement ceremonies on May 10. Ben Tieslau will sing the Alma Mater...

Read more

Blair student Amy Thompson wins Congressional Gold Medal Award

Apr. 16, 2013—Amy Thompson, a harp performance major, has been awarded the Congressional Gold Medal Award for Youth. Thompson, a native of Springfield, Tenn., is one of just two Tennesseans who received the honor for 2012. The Robertson Country Times, in an article published April 9, detailed Thompson’s awards ceremony, which was held April 4, 2013, at...

Read more

Blair School students win summer research fellowships

Mar. 29, 2013—Blair School of Music students Katherine Walden and DeLesslin “Roo” George-Warren have been awarded Vanderbilt Undergraduate Summer Research Program Fellowships for summer 2013. Walden will spend the summer conducting field research for her senior honors thesis, tentatively titled “Take Me Out to the Ballgame: Exploring connections between music, community, and sustainability in minor-league baseball affiliates...

Read more

Recent precollege program awards and honors

Mar. 6, 2013—Joy Fan won the Kentucky MTNA Junior Strings Division. Joy is a student of Connie Heard. Chloe Harvel, violin, won honorable mention in Junior Strings at the MTNA Southern Division competition in January 2013. Chloe is a student of Carolyn Huebl. Nolan Harvel, guitar, won the Columbus State Guitar Symposium Division III (grades 8 &...

Read more

Upcoming Events